NMSU Alamogordo Student Government


The NMSU Alamogordo student government is a group of elected representatives who advocate for the interests and welfare of the student body. The primary purpose of a student government is to create a sense of community and to provide a platform for students to voice their opinions, concerns, and ideas.

The responsibilities include planning and organizing campus events, providing funding for student organizations, representing the student body in college administration, and advocating for student rights and needs.

Student government members are elected by their peers and serve as liaisons between the student body and the administration. They work to create a positive and inclusive campus environment, promote student engagement, and ensure that students have access to the resources and support they need to succeed.

In addition to their official duties, student government members often serve as mentors and role models for their peers, helping to build a strong and supportive community on campus. Overall, a student government plays a critical role in creating a vibrant and engaged campus community at NMSU Alamogordo.

The Student Government Meetings

Every Friday at 12:00 pm at the Student Union Building and you can also join via Zoom by following this link: https://nmsu.zoom.us/j/96867661969

All NMSU Alamogordo students, who attend in-person or online, are welcome and encouraged to join the Student Government Meetings.

2023-2024 Interim Student Government Members (elections will be held in Fall 2024)


Jay Lopez


Briana Martinez


Benjamin Wright  

PR Officer:

Maia Sosa


Cheryl Wiggins

Advisors to the Student Government

Judy Garcia


Senior Administrative Assistant to the VPSS

Sofia Ugarte 


RC3 Program Director 

Gihan Gamage, PhD


Professor of Physics