Skip to main content

Faculty Assembly

The New Mexico State University at Alamogordo Branch Community College Faculty Consortium Committee was established in July, 2002. The working body of the Faculty Consortium, the Faculty Assembly, is made up of elected members from all faculty.

NMSU-Alamogordo first faculty committee was the Senior Faculty Committee. In 1997, the Junior Faculty Committee was created. In April, 2001, Assistant Professor Sue Frantz, the Junior Faculty Chair, and Professor Clint Burleson, Senior Faculty Chair, proposed to unify the NMSU-A faculty into one committee. A steering committee, chaired by Dr. James Gallagher, developed bylaws for such an organization. Working with faculty and administration, the steering committee fine-tuned the bylaws. The bylaws were passed by a majority of faculty; the Junior and Senior Faculty Committees were dissolved; and in July, 2002 the Faculty Consortium was officially established within the NMSU-A committee system.

In 2006, the Faculty Assembly Chair gained a vote in the Academic Council and the President’s Advisory Council. In 2017, the Faculty Assembly Chair gained a vote in the Administrative Council.

Chairs: John Haley (2002-2003); Bob Pena (2003-2004); Jeanette Little (2004-2006); Joyce Hill (2006-2007); Wayne McGowan (2007-2008); John Haley (2008-2009); Sara Irving (2009-2010); Ray Nejeres (2010-2011); Jim Gallagher (2011-2012); Wayne McGowan (2012-2014); Rob Klinger (2014-2017); Karen Armstrong-Sadowski (2017-2018); Wayne McGowan (2018-2019);Tanya Allred (2019-2020); Jim Gallagher (2020-2021)

Vice-Chairs: Cathy Kerska (2002-2003); Connie Breding and Lea Rano (2003-2004); Linda Fritze (2004-2005); Jim Gallagher (2005-2006); Wayne McGowan (2006-2007); Bette Berry (2007-2008); Sara Irving (2008-2009); Matthew Placencio (2009-2010); Connie Breding (2010-2011); Wayne McGowan (2011-2012); Carrie Baldwin (2012-2013); Rob Klinger (2013-2014); Kim Lopez Gallagher (2014-2016); Christine Trapp (2016-2017); Robert Klinger (2017-2018); Colleen Bond (2018-2021)

Recording Secretaries: Jim Gallagher (2002-2004); Claire Tiller (2005-2006); Bill Lockhart (2007-2010); Wanda Wakkinen (2010-2012); Bill Lockhart (2013-2014); Colleen Bond (2015-2016); Karen May (2016-2018); Rob Klinger (2018-2019); Matthew Placencio (2019-2021).